There, and back again… a Draken’s tale?

Essentially, if I make something public, I have to live up to it. Well, I don’t have to, but it’s more likely to happen. And I’m ready to make a change, and just fucking do something.

Your mission, my dear readers, whether you choose to accept it, is to be my Fellowship. I’m going to attempt to carry the One Ring of laziness, lethargy, and just plain fat to the fires of Mount Doom, and destroy it. I’m doing this for myself, because I don’t like how I look, because I want to cosplay Catwoman/Selina Kyle for DragonCon next year (and Padme’s Black Corset Gown), because I want to be able to do heavy fighting with the SCA and become Queen by Right of Combat, because I want to be healthy, because massage therapy is a physically exhausting job, and because I’m working to move past depression, stress, anxiety, and insomnia that comes from a mixture of a bad marriage, divorce, fundamental upbringing, and low self-confidence and esteem. Now that I have established that this is for me, I don’t need to worry about what other people think, or their standards. (Biggest problem I had when trying to lose weight with my ex)

If I ever complain that this isn’t easy, shoot me (preferably with a nerf gun or super soaker). It ain’t easy, but if Frodo can carry the Ring to Mordor, well, so can I. I just have to woman up and shoulder past the frustration, the crap, and any other bullshit.

So, here’s how it is. My goal is to walk 1779 miles by 16th October, 2012. That is the total mileage that Frodo and Sam travelled from Hobbiton to Mount Doom. Of course, once I get there, it’s gonna be 1625 miles back to Bag End from Minas Tirith, but let’s take one trip at a time.

I briefly looked at a paleo diet, but I love my milk, yogurt, and pasta way too much. What I can do, however, is start to cut back on the stuff I probably shouldn’t be eating. I will [try] keep a basic food diary, though.

Goal: Drink at least 3 litres of water EVERY DAY. I will keep track of that, and see how I do. Stay Tuned.

Plan: Take a 15-30 minute walk on my lunch break every day.

Plan: Take a minimum of a 5 minute walk when I get up every morning.

Plan: Come up with a 5-10 minute warm up routine. Consider getting a jump rope, but definitely do jumping jacks.

Plan: Start doing circuits at gym gearing toward free weight training 2-3 times a week. When I can’t, use the following exercise routine (borrowed from NerdFitness and slightly modified) at home and do 3 sets:

  • 20 body weight squats
  • 10 push ups (knees for starters, or wall — will test and see)
  • 20 lunges
  • 10 dumbbell rows (using a gallon milk jug)
  • 15 second plank
  • 20 side planks/dips (from Pilates, 10 per side)
  • 20 Jumping Jacks

I intend to start planning out some more meals, and start eating more protein.

Stopped by the grocery store after work because my cat would start eating me otherwise (well, probably not, she had food this morning), picked up milk, more eggs (yay breakfast!), and their whole chickens were on sale, so I’m thinking I may actually roast it, and *gasp* make stock. With it being Hunting, and Samhain coming up, and the start of the new year… I want to take a more active role. I need to get some pumpkins and/or butternut squash and roast them for soup and stuff, as well. I also need to start freezing food, because when the weather gets darker, cooler, and “blegh” at times, I have issues with motivation. May even break down and make some bread or rolls or something.
Did some research on melatonin, and decided to cut my dosage in half. It worked last night, as I wasn’t groggy in the morning. Trying it again tonight, and we’ll see what happens. Not a fan of the vivid dreams, especially since this is my first night taking it without John, and it’s nice to have someone to hold you if you wake up hyperventilating and/or screaming, but I’ll be fine.

AND! I drank a little over 3 litres of water today. I’m so proud of myself. And did my brief little walk to get moving in the morning, as well. Tomorrow, the goal is to do a quick walk up and down my block, hop in the shower, cook up an egg, throw lunch together, and PUT MY GYM BAG BACK IN THE CAR. I’ll need my stretchy pants for T’ai Chi and energy work after massage, in case we’re doing that tomorrow evening. And if not, and we get out by 9ish, I may hit up the gym for a half hour-45 minutes.

This was long, I know, but hey. Such is life. In the meantime, I have to unpack, buy bookshelves, organize my craftroom, work on my Halloween costume, and actually sew my quilt. >_> Pagan Pride this Saturday, though! (And, I may be a panelist at a con for costuming… *squee*)

3 thoughts on “There, and back again… a Draken’s tale?

  1. You have what is possibly the most epically nerdy exercise goals I have ever seen. *applause* I am tempted to join you. It’s either that, or running as training for when the Doctor comes to take me away.

  2. Whoa! Good for you!! I was just reading an article about using the Fellowship to accomplish Great Things. You have my ass (doesn’t that sound like what Gimli says?!)!

Leave a Reply

